“I consider the sisters of women self-help groups to be the champions of self-reliant India campaign.
These self-help groups are actually national help groups.”

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi

Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Rural Livelihood Mission (DAY-NRLM) is a flagship poverty alleviation program implemented by the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India.

It aims to reduce poverty by enabling poor households to access gainful self-employment and skilled wage employment opportunities resulting in sustainable and diversified livelihood options for the poor.

National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) was launched in 2010 as a mission-mode scheme by
restructuring the erstwhile Swarnajayanti Grameen Swarojgar Yojana (SGSY). In 2016, the program
was renamed Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihood Mission (DAYNRLM).

The central and state governments jointly fund this centrally sponsored scheme.

For more information visit official site : DAY-NRLM Aajeevika

DAY-NRLM promotes building strong institutions such as Self-Help Groups (SHGs) for the poor,
particularly women, and enabling these institutions to access a range of financial services and livelihoods.

These institutions provide them with long-term support to diversify their livelihoods, enhance their incomes, and improve their quality of life.

Most of the mission’s interventions are being implemented and scaled up by the SHG women themselves who are trained as community resource persons (CRPs) – Krishi Sakhis, Pashu Sakhis, Bank Sakhis, Bima Sakhis, Banking Correspondent Sakhis, etc.

The Mission is also working on empowering the SHG women through awareness generation and behaviour change communication on issues like domestic violence, women’s education and other gender-related concerns, nutrition, sanitation, health, etc.

The aim of the SHGs created under this scheme is to facilitate:
(a) Access to formal credit
(b) Support for diversification and strengthening of livelihoods
(c) Access to entitlements and public services.

Features and components of the Scheme include:
1. One member (preferably a woman) from each rural poor household would be brought
under the Self-Help Group (SHG) network. Women SHG groups would have banklinkage arrangements.

2. The Mission consists of four components, viz.,

(i) social mobilization, community institution, and capacity building;

(ii) financial inclusion;

(iii) livelihood promotion; and

(iv) convergence.

3. The Mission also supports the development of skills for rural youth and their placement,
training, and self-employment through rural self-employment institutes (RSETIs),
innovations, infrastructure creation, and market support.

4. NRLM provides Revolving Fund (RF) to SHGs of Rs.10,000-15,000 as a corpus to
meet the members’ credit needs directly and as catalytic capital for leveraging repeat
bank finance. RF is given to SHGs that have been practicing ‘Panchasutra’ (Regular
meetings; Regular savings; regular inter-loaning; Timely repayment; and Up-to-date
books of accounts).

5. The Mission also provides Community Investment Fund as Seed Capital to SHG
Federations at the Cluster level to meet the credit needs of the members through the
SHGs/Village Organizations and to meet the working capital needs of the collective
activities at various levels.

6. Convergence with various ministries and agencies dealing with poverty reduction of
rural poor.

DAY-NRLM implementation is overseen by State Rural Livelihood Missions (SPVs), with
District Mission Management Units (DMMUs)
responsible for planning and execution at the
district level under the district administration’s guidance.

At the block level, a Block Mission Management Unit implements the Mission activities. The Mission is implemented in a phased but intensive manner, covering a specific number of blocks each year.

The Department of Rural Development in the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India, is the nodal ministry which oversees policy formulation, monitoring, evaluation, and fund disbursement.

To register for DAY-NRLM, visit the following link: https://aajeevika.gov.in/en/member/register

Fill out the mandatory fields. (Name, email ID, Contact Number)

Provide a Username.

Create a new password and confirm the same.

Click on “Create New Account”.

  1. Aadhar Number
  2. Proof of Identity
  3. Proof of Residence
  4. Voter ID Card
  5. Passport Size Photo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Crossupdates

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading